March 2020 Book Vote

GIRLY BOOK CLUB

MARCH

Book Vote 2020

Every month we're pleased to bring you a short list of contenders for our Monthly Girly Book Club pick. We work really hard to ensure the list includes only titles available in paperback in our main markets, making the book more accessible to our membership. We also try to include a variety of authors and genres. We spend hours and hours pouring over potential books, their release dates, costs and availability. We hope you enjoy our selection.

Take a look at the synopses below and vote for the one that appeals to you most as a Girly Book Club selection!

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

By C. A. Fletcher (365 pages)
Book Synopsis

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like yours. I've never had friends, and in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you. Because if we aren't loyal to the things we love, what's the point?


The Priory of The Orange Tree

By Samantha Shannon (858 pages)
Book Synopsis

A world divided. A queendom without an heir. An ancient enemy awakens. The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction – but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained to be a dragonrider since she was a child, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.


The Gone World

By Tom Sweterlitsch (383 pages)
Book Synopsis

Shannon Moss is part of a clandestine division within the Naval Criminal Investigative Service. In western Pennsylvania, 1997, she is assigned to solve the murder of a Navy SEAL's family--and to locate his vanished teenage daughter. Though she can't share the information with conventional law enforcement, Moss discovers that the missing SEAL was an astronaut aboard the spaceship U.S.S. Libra—a ship assumed lost to the currents of Deep Time. Moss knows first-hand the mental trauma of time-travel and believes the SEAL's experience with the future has triggered this violence.

Determined to find the missing girl and driven by a troubling connection from her own past, Moss travels ahead in time to explore possible versions of the future, seeking evidence to crack the present-day case. To her horror, the future reveals that it's not only the fate of a family that hinges on her work, for what she witnesses rising over time's horizon and hurtling toward the present is the Terminus: the terrifying and cataclysmic end of humanity itself.

Luminous and unsettling, The Gone World bristles with world-shattering ideas yet remains at its heart an intensely human story.


Vox

By Christina Dalcher (336 pages)
Book Synopsis

Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed to speak more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial—this can't happen here. Not in America. Not to her.

This is just the beginning.

Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end.

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.


VOTE!

So which book would you like to read this March?

This poll has ended (since 2 days).

Results will be available after the voting ends!

Girly Book Club

Latest posts by Girly Book Club (see all)

[]
1 Step 1

Get notified when a winner is chosen!

keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

12 Comments

  1. Carole says:

    Had a hard time choosing between ‘The Gone World’ and ‘Vox’. I really wasn’t interested in the other 2.

    11
  2. Kelly Chong says:

    Agree w you, Carole! I chose btw The Gone World and Vox 🙂

    4
  3. Katrina says:

    My choice was between The Priory of the Orange Tree and VOX. Great selection! May read a few of these regardless of choice for March… 🤓

    3
    • Tera says:

      My choices as well. I can’t imagine not being able to speak my mind. However we can Express ourselves in more ways than one. Actions are often louder than words.

      As for the Priory of the Orange Tree… intriguing title! I want to know more.

  4. Angelique LaCour says:

    Voted for Boy and his Dog first choice and The Gone World as second choice.

    3
  5. Barbara says:

    858 pages is a bit long for a book club slelction. Otherwise I might like The Priory of the Orange Tree. Cox it is!

    5
  6. Beth Lamb says:

    I was immediately sold on Vox with The Gone World as a very close second. Both books got my attention and I’m sure I’ll read both anyway.

    2
  7. Marie says:

    The Priory of The Orange Tree is already on my tbr list so I picked that one. It is a long one though. I think I’ll add VOX on my tbr list as well. I think having The Priory of the Orange Tree be a book club book would keep me from drifting away from the book being that it’s so long.

    2
  8. Caitlin says:

    The Priory of the Orange Tree has been on my TBR list for a long time, so an easy choice this month for me!

    1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR

NEWSLETTER

 

Sign up to our newsletter to receive details about book of the month announcements, virtual author events, book recommendations, exciting news, and exclusive giveaways!

erin

You have Successfully Subscribed!